Missouri State Courts

Books Worth Reading...

Law Books - Top Sellers

The Missouri Judiciary

Jefferson City is the capital city of Missouri. The state supreme court is located in the capital. Major metropolitan areas include St. Louis and Kansas City.

The Court of Appeals is divided into three geographic districts: Eastern, Southern, and Western.

Missouri circuit courts are courts of original civil and criminal jurisdiction. That is, cases usually begin in the circuit court, which is where trials may occur. Within the circuit court, there are various divisions, such as associate circuit, small claims, municipal, family, probate, criminal, and juvenile. Missouri's counties and the city of St. Louis are organized into forty-five judicial circuits. There is a court in every county. The circuit court is typically in the county seat (or the city of St. Louis) and may be in additional locations in the county.

State Supreme Court
Missouri Supreme Court
Circuit Courts Homepage
Missouri Circuit Courts
State Courts Administrator
Office of States Courts Administrator
Municipal Court Websites
Municipal Courts
Related Links
Missouri Official State Website
State Government
Judicial Branch
Missouri Attorney General
The Missouri Bar
more » above, in right-hand column