Idaho State Courts

Books Worth Reading...

Law Books - Top Sellers

The Idaho Judiciary

Boise is the capital of Idaho. The Idaho Supreme Court holds court not only in Boise but also "rides a circuit" visiting the localities of Coeur d'Alene, Moscow, Lewiston, Pocatello, Rexburg, Idaho Falls, Caldwell and Twin Falls. There are five justices.

The Court of Appeals is Iowa's intermediate appellate court. It hears appeals from the district courts which are assigned to it by the supreme court. There are three appellate judges.

District Courts have original jurisdiction over the majority of civil and criminal cases. The state is divided into seven judicial districts. Each district contains from four to ten counties.

Magistrate Divisions adjudicate misdemeanors and civil lawsuits up to $10,000. They also hear certain other types of cases including small claims, probate, juvenile and family matters. They conduct preliminary hearings, and magistrate judges can issue search warrants and arrest warrants.

Tribal Courts are established for self-goverance of Indian tribes in Idaho.

State Supreme Court
Idaho Supreme Court
Appellate Court
Idaho Court of Appeals
District Courts
Idaho District Courts
Drug Courts
Idaho Drug Courts
Tribal Courts
Coeur d' Alene Tribe of Indians
Kootenai Tribe of Idaho
Nez Perce Tribe
Shoshone-Bannock Tribes
Shoshone-Paiute Tribes
Related Links
Idaho Official State Website
State Government
Judicial Branch
Idaho Attorney General
State Bar
more » above, in right-hand column