District of Columbia Courts

Books Worth Reading...

Law Books - Top Sellers

The District of Columbia Judiciary

Washington, D. C. (the District of Columbia) is the capital city of the United States of America. It is not within any of the fifty states. Although the city hosts the national government, it also has its own local government.

The District of Columbia Courts are the D. C. Court of Appeals and the Superior Court of D. C.

The Court of Appeals is the highest court of the District. The court has one chief judge and eight associate judges. It is the equivalent of a state supreme court in jurisdiction and duties.

The Superior Court is a trial court of general jurisdiction. It has divisions for Civil, Criminal, Family Court, Domestic Violence Unit, Probate and Small Claims.

The Court System provides administrative support to both courts. The D. C. Courts are funded by the Federal government.

The Joint Committee on Judicial Administration is the policy-making body for the District of Columbia Courts.

Court of Appeals
D. C. Court of Appeals
Superior Court
D. C. Superior Court
Court System
D. C. Courts System [support services]
Related Links
D.C. Government Official Website
City Government
District of Columbia Courts
D.C. Attorney General
D.C. Bar Association
more » above, in right-hand column