Arizona State Courts

Books Worth Reading...

Law Books - Top Sellers

The Arizona Judiciary

Phoenix is the capital of Arizona. The state Supreme Court is located in the capital and has five justices appointed by the governor for terms of 6 years. The high court has jurisdiction to hear appeals from lesser state courts as well as the power to issue certain writs.

The Arizona Court of Appeals hears appeals from lower courts for both civil and criminal cases except that death penalty cases go to the Arizona Supreme Court.

The Court of Appeals is divided into two divisions. Division One is located in Phoenix and has 16 judges. Division Two is located in Tucson and has 6 judges. Cases are decided by panels of three judges.

Superior Courts are the court of original jurisdiction for many criminal and civil cases. Inferior courts (Justice and City courts) may try misdemeanor offenses where maximum penalty is six months in jail and $2,500 fine.

Justice of the Peace courts are county courts of limited jurisdiction which try civil cases up to $10,000, small claims without attorneys, traffic and misdemeanor violations outside city limits, evictions and preliminary hearings.

City Courts handle traffic and misdemeanor violations inside city limits, parking and violations of city ordinance, and city/county orders of protection.

State Supreme Court
Arizona Supreme Court
Court of Appeals
Division One
Division Two
Superior Courts
Apache County
Cochise County
Coconino County
Gila County
Graham County
Greenlee County
La Paz County
Maricopa County
Mohave County
Navajo County
Pima County
Pinal County
Santa Cruz County
Yavapai County
Yuma County
Justice of the Peace Courts
Justice Courts
Municipal Court Websites
Municipal Courts
Related Links
Arizona Official State Website
State Government
Arizona Government Courts Page
Judicial Branch
Arizona Attorney General
Arizona Bar Association
more » above, in right-hand column